Friday, October 9, 2009

The Champions League Twenty20 (CLT20)

The Champions League Twenty20 (CLT20) tournament brings together domestic leagues from seven nations as they clash for the top spot in Twenty20 cricket this October in India. The overall prize money the competition offers is a staggering USD six million dollars. The winner will take home USD 2.5 million dollars - the total prize money for the ICC World T20 held in England earlier this year.

The tournament boasts of some of the finest talent in world cricket like Adam Gilchrist, Virender Sehwag, Brendon McCullum, Dwayne Bravo and Ajantha Mendis. It will feature 12 teams as opposed to the 8 pencilled in originally making it a more inclusive and competitive event.

The teams that will compete in the inaugural contest are: DLF IPL Season 2 champions, Deccan Chargers, runners-up Royal Challengers Bangalore and third-placed Delhi Daredevils (India); New South Wales Blues and VB Victorian Bushrangers (Australia); Cape Cobras and Diamond Eagles (South Africa); Otago Volts (New Zealand); Wayamba (Sri Lanka); Trinidad & Tobago (West Indies) and winner of England’s domestic Twenty20 competition - Sussex and runners-up Somerset County Cricket Club.

The number of teams from any one country is decided of adequate representation of the leading driver nations. So in this year’s competition, we have three teams from India; two each from Australia, South Africa and England; and one each from New Zealand, Sri Lanka and West Indies.


* Royal Challengers
* Deccan Chargers
* Delhi Daredevils
* Victorian Bushrangers
* New South Wales
* Cape Cobras
* Diamond Eagles
* Otago Volts
* Trinidad & Tobago
* Wayamba Elevens
* Somerset CCC
* Sussex Sharks

Matches will be played at 4 p.m. and 8 p.m. IST

India will host the inaugural edition of CLT20. Delhi, Hyderabad and Bangalore - the home venues of the IPL teams competing this season - will host matches. However, the venue for subsequent editions of the competition will be decided each year.

The teams will be divided into four groups of three each and will initially play each other on a league basis. The top two teams from each group will qualify for the second stage and four teams from the second stage will make it to the semi finals. A total of 23 matches will be played over a 16-day period in the inaugural edition of CLT20.

This is the first time ever that domestic leagues from different nations will lock horns in a prestigious competition. CLT20 can be viewed as the World Cup of club cricket. It is a platform for domestic/club teams to perform at the highest level, preparing players for the next step - representing, or performing even better for, their countries.

Hurry!!! Buy a PEO TV and experience the excitement.Also PEO TV have decided to give STAR Cricket and STAR sports free for platinum new sign-ups.


kavindi said...

I have found a new blog PEO TV has deployed..
check this link here they write about the content they have and try to collect feedback from us:

web dagger said...

Hey Thanks a lot For sharing the information..........

I like T20 games a lot......

By the way check out the upcoming Major tournament Champions League 2011 like Dates, Teams , Nokia Champions league t20, Venues, CLT20 2011 Schedule, Qualified teams, Results and more from Champions League T20 2011 Schedule and Nokia Champions league t20 2011